Fair Play
??? As if an Olympic medal was not enough, the women from South Korea earned themselves another honour during the Olympic hockey competition -- the International Hockey Federations Fair Play Trophy. In the mens tournament, India was selected for the award given to the teams that best embody the ideals of fair play.

The award was established in 1966 when the late Jhr. Quarles Van Ufford, stepping down as FIH President, donated a trophy to be awarded to the team having displayed the best behaviour during the Olympic hockey tournament. When a womens competition was added to the Olympic programme in 1980, a Fair Play Trophy was donated by Mrs. Adri Lancaster of Belgium, a former FIH Vice President and Council member for many years.

As the full Indian team was not on hand to receive the award on the final night of the hockey competition in Atlanta, the trophy will be presented during the 18th Champions Trophy scheduled for December in Madras, India.