Women's World Cup pools released
     The International Hockey Federation recently released the pool groupings for the 1998 Women's World Cup taking place 20-31 May in Utrecht, the Netherlands. The recommendations were made by the FIH Competitions Committee and were based on the rankings from the Olympic Games, Champions Trophy and World Cup Qualifier. The suggested pools were then approved by the FIH Council, which met 25th September during the 6th Junior World Cup for men in Milton Keynes, England.

Women's World Cup, 20-31 May 1998, Utrecht, Netherlands

Pool A Pool B
Australia Argentina
China England
Germany India
Scotland Korea
South Africa Netherlands
USA New Zealand

Also announced were the appointments of Tournament Directors for both the men's and women's World Cup. The Tournament Director of the Women's World Cup is Anabel Ess of Singapore and for the Men's World Cup, Heinz W÷ltje of Germany.With the completion of the 9th Women's World Cup Qualifier in Harare, Zimbabwe in August, the full contingent of 24 teams for the 1998 World Cups is now known.

South Africa, New Zealand, Scotland, India, England and China were the top six teams from the Qualifier to move on to the Women's World Cup. They join Argentina, Australia, Germany, Korea, Netherlands and the USA to make up the field of 12. The final match programme is scheduled to be announced by the Dutch Hockey Association in a press conference on 17th November in Utrecht.

Tournament organisers are busy getting the World Cup word out. Their first World Cup newsletter was distributed in June with the second going out in early September. All available tournament details can be found in the World Cup section of the Rabobank International web site at: Rabobank International is the tournament's main sponsor.

To purchase tickets, fax your requests to +31 30 656 4485; for travel information, fax inquiries to Excellent Travel Service BV at +31 20 689 0246.