FIH Committees newly formed

In its meeting last month, The FIH Council approved the membership of FIH Committees for the coming four years. Members were recommended to the FIH by Continental Federations and National Associations, and were agreed upon by the FIH President and Committee Chairpersons.

In two years time, there is the possibility to replace or re-appoint half the members of any given Committee, based on the proposals of the respective Chairpersons. The FIH Council, Executive and Office bearers, along with the Chairpersons of Committees, wish to thank all outgoing members for their dedication and support, and in turn, extend a warm welcome to all new Committee members.

Please see Committee Roundup section for details on the establishment of the FIH Media & Public Relations Committee.

Following are the FIH Committee members recently installed by the FIH Council. Names in bold indicate a new member of the Committee.

Competitions Committee

Chairman, Steve Jaspan (RSA - formerly member), Secretary, Adrien Peters (FIH)

Members - Ibrahim Almohandis (EGY), Jill Barker (Athlete's Panel - ENG), Alberto Budeisky (ARG), Peter Cohen (AUS), Arnavaz Damania (IND), Annabel Ess (SIN), Marijke Fleuren (NED), Adriano da Gai (ITA), Martin Gotheridge (ENG), Ingeborg Grüner (AUT), Dimitrios Hadjimichalis (GRE), Jean-Claude Le Clef (BEL), Miguel Angel Masana (ESP), Evlyn Raistrick (ECO), Muneer Sait (IND), Roger Self (ENG), Shim, Jae Won (KOR), Mudassar Asghar Syed, (PAK), G. Vijayanathan (MAS), Chris Waters (USA), Heinz Wöltje (GER).

Outgoing members - Wiert Doyer (NED), Eduardo Guelfand (ARG), Robert Lycke (BEL)

Development and Coaching Committee

Chairman, Théo Ykema (NED), Secretary, Fumio Ogura (JPN)

Members - Akhtar Rasool Chaudhary (PAK), Floris Jan Bovelander (Athlete's Panel - NED), Santiago Cortčs Vila (ESP), Clare Digby (RSA), Anne Ellis (GAL), René Granat (VEN), Alistair Gray (ECO), Mike Hamilton (ENG), Carlos Hernandez (MEX), Tayyab Ikram (MAC), K. Jothikumaran (IND), Sami Khan (PAK), Judy McCrae (CAN), Rodolfo Mendoza (ARG), Henny Oldenhove (AUS), Claire Peteers-Monseu (BEL), Mohamed Sambet Al Raisi (OMA), Avtar Singh (KEN), Ivan Speeding (AUS), Harald Steckelbruck (GER), Niall Sturrock (ECO)

Outgoing members - Iva Gloudon (TRI), Marina van der Merwe (CAN), Alan Corrigan (RSA), Rudiger Hänel (GER)

Equipment Committee

Chairman, Bob Davidzon (NED), Secretary Allan Woods (USA - formerly a member)

Members - Mahmoud Barakat (EGY), Davinder Singh Bharij (KEN), Surjit S. Bhullar (IND), Clare Digby (RSA), John Giles (AUS), M. Lukshumayeh (SIN), Mark Manolios (ZIM), John Mc Bryde (CAN), Olegario Monegal (ESP), Michel van Oost (Athlete's Panel - BEL), Brenda Read (ENG), Daniele Ribetto (ITA), Kurt Schneider (GER)

Outgoing members - Peter Broers (NED) Ernst Wall (ECO), Pete van Zyl (ZIM)

Medical Committee

Chairman, Dr. Kathleen Watson (JAM), Secretary Dr. Jerzy Smorawinski (POL)

Members - Dr. Ramlan Abd. Aziz (MAS), Dr. Frédérique Chiva (FRA), Dr. Wim Cornelis (NED), Dr. Richard Dodds (ENG), Dr. Carsten Fischer (Athlete's Panel - GER), Dr. Richard Kendrick (IRL), Dr Gail Suzanne Kerr (JAM), Dr. Lelio Manunta (ITA), Dr. Leslie Milne (USA), Dr. Robin Mitchell (FIJ), Dr. Gil Rodas Font (ESP), Dr. Alain Tétard (FRA), Dr. Fook Wong (USA)

Outgoing members - Dr. W. Diesel (RSA), Dr. Raja A. Malek (MAS)

Media & Public Relations Committee

Chairman, David Burt (ENG), Secretary, Mary Coyle (FIH)

Members - David Agius (Athlete's Panel - MLT), Reinhold Borgmann (GER), Frankie D'Cruz (MAS), Wilfried Cleven (GER), Jean-Claude Materne (BEL), Farouk Mazhar (PAK), Sandy Pisani (AUS), Aaron Sher (USA), Choi, Ky Soo (KOR), S. Thyagarajan (IND)

Outgoing members (from Marketing & Promotion Committee) - Mr Akhtar Rasool Chaudhary (PAK), Peter Cohen (AUS), Alan Corrigan (RSA), Dominique Paret (FRA), Henk Westerlaken (NED), Sabine Zirfas (GER)

Umpiring Committee

Chairman, Graham Nash (ENG), Secretary, José Luis Gortazar (ESP)

Members - Seif EL Dine Ahmed (EGY), Angeline Ee (SIN), Bobby Gagel (RSA), Richard Kentwell (USA), Marianne Kooijman (NED), Margaret Lanning (CAN), Barbara J. Marois (Athlete's Panel - USA), Robyn Pascoe (AUS), Jayampathy Perera (SRI), Corinne Pritchard (NZL), Alain Renaud (FRA), Japik Riemersma (NED), Kiyoshi Sana (JPN), Horacio Servetto (ARG), Peter van Zyl (ZIM)

Outgoing members - None

Hockey Rules Board

Chairman, Mansoor A. Atif (PAK), Secretary, George Croft (ENG), Assistant Secretary. Roger Webb (ENG)

Members - Amrit Bose (IND), Eric Donegani (CAN), Eduardo Guelfand (ARG), Jolanda Mohlmann (NED), Robyn Pascoe (AUS), Evlyn Raistrick (ECO), Alain Renaud (FRA), Seif El Dine Ahmed (EGY), G. Vijayanathan (MAS), Ernie Wall (ECO), Heinz Wöltje (GER)

Outgoing members - Lee Mi Ok (JPN),

Deceased member - Hardial Singh (KEN)

Athletes' Panel

David Agius MLT Media and Public Relations Committee
Jill Barker ENG Competitions Committee
Floris Jan Bovelander NED Development & Coaching Committee
Carsten Fischer GER Medical Committee
Barbara J. Marois USA Umpiring Committee
Michel van Oost BEL Equipment Committee
Pargat Singh IND Rules Advisory Panel
Liane Tooth AUS Rules Advisory Panel