Homepage > News >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Africa Cup of Nations - Day 3
05 Oct 2005 08:16

Egypt and South Africa are locked in a tight battle at the top of the men’s points table after drawing 1-1 on day three of the Africa Cup of Nations in Pretoria.

After comfortably winning both of their opening two matches, the teams met in round three with neither able to gain a significant advantage in a closely-fought contest.

After a scoreless first half, Egypt gained the advantage soon after the break with Sameh Metwaly converting with a drag flick in the 40th minute.

South Africa equalised through Wayne Madsen in the 58th minute but neither team could break the deadlock before full time.

In the other men’s match, Nigeria defeated Namibia 4-2. Nigeria began the match well and led 2-0 after 20 minutes with goals to Okwudili Menyei Auwalu Lamido.

Namibia began their fightback after half time and drew level when Andre Botha struck twice in quick succession; first from the penalty spot in the 46th minute and then from the field two minutes later. However the Namibian challenge was short-lived as they conceded a goal in the 49th minute to again fall behind before Sunday Ogodogun sealed the match for Nigeria with a strike 13 minutes before full time.

Egypt retain their position on top of the table on goal difference from South Africa, with Namibia sitting in third. The top two teams after the round robin matches will contest the final on Sunday with the winner gaining a berth in the 2006 BDO Hockey World Cup in Monchengladbach.

The South African women’s team continued their dominant and destructive path, following a 9-0 demolition of Namibia in their opening match with a 13-0 thrashing of Nigeria on day three.

With only four teams in the women’s draw, teams only have one more match remaining until the final and classification match, with South Africa an overwhelming favourite to win the tournament and claim the automatic spot in the Samsung Hockey World Cup in Madrid later next year.

The other match played in the women’s competition was a 0-0 draw between Ghana and Namibia.

Results - Day 3
Nigeria 4 defeated Namibia 2
Goals: NIG – Okwudili Menyei PC 12m, Auwalu Lamido FG 20m FG 49m, Sunday Ogodogun FG 57m; NAM – Andre Botha PS 46m FG 48m

Egypt 1 drew South Africa 1
Goals: EGY – Sameh Metwaly PC 40m; RSA – Steve Phillips FG 58m

Ghana 0 drew Namibia 0

South Africa 13 defeated Nigeria 0
Goals: RSA – Henna du Buisson FG 9m FG 10m PC 35m, Candice Forword FG 19m FG 56m, Tsoanelo Pholo PS 22m, Tarryn Bright PS 47m PC 48m, Kate Hector PC 50m, Dalean de Kock FG 53m, Marcelle Keet FG 60m, Nita van Jaarsveld PC 64m, Lesley-Anne George PS 66m

Points Tables
Egypt 7 points
South Africa 7
Nigeria 3
Namibia 0
Ghana 0

South Africa 6
Ghana 2
Nigeria 1
Namibia 1

Match Schedule
Wednesday 5 October
Egypt v Nigeria, 14:30
Ghana v Namibia, 16:30

Thursday 6 October
Namibia v Nigeria, 14:30
South Africa v Ghana, 16:30

Friday 7 October
Ghana v Nigeria, 14:30
South Africa v Namibia, 16:30

Saturday 8 October
3 v 4, 13:30
1 v 2, 18:30
3 v 4, 11:00
1 v 2, 16:00

Results - Day 1
Egypt 4 defeated Ghana 2
Goals: EGY - Sameh Metwaly PC 3m PC 57m, Mohamed Sameer PC 27m PC 38m; GHA - Joseph Appiah PC 29m, Daniel Lamptey PC 70m

South Africa 5 defeated Nigeria 0
Goals: RSA - Ian Symons PC 27m PC 38m, Gareth Carr PC 48m, Steve Phillips FG 55m FG 56m

Results - Day 2
Ghana 1 drew Nigeria 1
Goals: GHA - Greta Aryeetey FG 39m; NIG - Christy Agbo FG 60m

South Africa 9 defeated Namibia 0
Goals: RSA - Candice Forword FG 18m, Henna du Buisson PC 28m, Dalean de Kock PC 35m, Kate Hector PC 35m PC 66m PC 70m, Tarryn Bright FG 38m, Lindsey Carlisle PC 42m, Marsha Marescia FG 54m

Egypt 7 defeated Namibia 2
Goals: EGY - Sayed El Shahat FG 9m FG 38m, Sameh Metwaly PC 34m PC 47m, Mahmoud Farouk PC 40m, Ahmed Ezz PC 68m, Ahmed Said FG 69m; NAM - Heinrich Swartbooi FG 16m, Reagon Graig FG 55m

South Africa 4 defeated Ghana 0
Goals: RSA - Steve Phillips FG 2m, Ian Symons PC 12m, Lungile Tsolekile FG 20m, Darren Gallagher PC 55m

© 2006 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by sportcentric