Homepage >
Earthquake Benefit Match
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Rabobank Hockey Champions Trophy to be broadcast on Internet
11 Aug 2003 14:30

Rabobank Hockey Champions Trophy to be broadcast on Internet

Yeahronimo Sports and Events have secured from International Hockey Federation (FIH) the exclusive web broadcast rights outside of USA and Canada, for the Rabobank Hockey Champions Trophy, which takes place from 16–24 August in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

All 18 matches of the event will be broadcast live on the web in Windows Media format. Viewers with a high speed, broadband connection can access the signal via www.yeahronimo.com on a pay-per-view basis, payable by credit card. The service will also feature "on demand" delivery, where matches already played may be accessed at the viewers convenience. The www.yeahronimo.com website opens for pre-bookings on Wednesday 13 August.

Whilst viewers in USA and Canada are excluded from the internet broadcast, they will be able to watch the Champions Trophy on television via cable and satellite broadcaster Zee TV. Zee TV recently acquired the exclusive television rights for USA and Canada from FIH, via its exclusive TV distribution partner Octagon/CSI. This TV deal heralds the first time ever that coverage from an FIH major event will be broadcast in North America.

Based in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Yeahronimo Sports and Events is a European full-service Internet and interactive media organisation and provides a total solution for payment and protection of several digital services, such as music files and streaming audio and video via the Internet. The company recently concluded a deal with eight clubs from the Holland Casino Ere Divisie (Dutch Soccer Premier League) to broadcast live web streams of next season’s matches.

Peter Cohen, FIH Hon Secretary General, commented "This venture represents a significant breakthrough for hockey as it adds a new and exciting way in which hockey’s major events can reach hockey fans around the globe. The FIH looks forward to progressing its partnership with Yeahronimo for this and future FIH events."

Roelant Oltmans, Managing Director of Sport and Events for Yeahronimo added, "We are very excited to be able to bring FIH’s premier annual event, the Rabobank Hockey Champions Trophy to hockey fans around the globe.

Prices for broadband internet viewing are as follows:

€ 4.95 per match

€ 34.95 "season ticket" (access to all eighteen matches of the tournament, live and delayed)

€ 2.50 on-demand matches per match

A full match schedule and further details for the event can be accessed on FIHockey.org and www.championstrophy.nl


Who will win the 2005 WorldHockey Women's Player of the Year Award
Luciana Aymar (ARG)
Minke Booij (NED)
Nikki Hudson (AUS)
Lizzy Igasan (NZL)
Rachel Imison (AUS)
Ko Woon Oh (KOR)
Fanny Rinne (GER)
Janneke Schopman (NED)
Amy Tran (USA)
Zhou Wanfeng (CHN)

World Rankings
WorldHockey Online

| Subscribe
Events 2005
| Oceania Cup, Women, Auckland/Sydney
| Oceania Cup, Men, Suva
| Samsung Hockey Champions Trophy, Women, Canberra
| Sahara Hockey Champions Trophy, Men, Chennai
| Full Tournament Calendar

Next World Level Event

| WorldHockey Umpiring Boost & Handbook - Spanish version now available
| 2005 Appointments
| Umpires and Umpire Managers Lists
© 2005 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by sportcentric