Homepage >
Events & Results
Tournament Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Pools announced for women’s BDO Hockey Junior World Cup
05 Apr 2005 15:14

The Pools for the women’s BDO Hockey Junior World Cup in Santiago, Chile, have been announced.

The Pool allocations were made following the women’s Pan American Junior Championship in Puerto Rico, the fifth and final continental qualifying event for the tournament.

Europe has six participants, while Pan America has four representatives (including host Chile) and Asia three. Africa will be represented by South Africa and Zimbabwe, with Oceania champion Australia completing the 16-team field.

The tournament will be played between 14-25 September, with the rankings used to decide the composition of the Pools based on a combination of the results of the various Continental Federation qualifying tournaments and the known respective strengths of the various federations and national associations.

Based on their performances at the European qualifying tournament, Netherlands and Germany have been ranked one and two and are the top seeds in their respective Pools. Pan American champion Argentina is ranked third and is the number one seed in Pool C, while Australia is ranked fourth in a competitive Pool D that also includes China, Spain, and host nation Chile.

The four pools, with the ranking of each nation in parentheses, are:

Pool A
Netherlands (1)
England (8)
USA (9)
Zimbabwe (16)

Pool B
Germany (2)
South Africa (7)
India (10)
Canada (15)

Pool C
Argentina (3)
Korea (6)
Scotland (11)
Belarus (14)

Pool D
Australia (4)
China (5)
Spain (12)
Chile (13)

Each team will play every other team in its Pool once (three matches), before the top three progress to the next phase. The fourth-placed teams in each Pool will play off for 13th-16th position.

At this stage, the four Pools will combine to form two Groups of six. Teams will take forward the points earned against the other qualified teams from their Pool and then play the remaining teams not from their original Pool to complete six preliminary round matches.

The top two teams in each six-team Group at the end of this phase of the competition will progress to the semi-finals. The winners of the semi finals will contest the final.

The BDO Hockey Junior World Cup will be the fifth staging of the event, with the last edition in 2001 won by Korea in Buenos Aires, Argentina. No nation has won the women’s Junior World Cup more than once, with Germany, Argentina, Netherlands and Korea all successful since the tournament’s inception in 1989.

The match schedule for the BDO Hockey Junior World Cup will be announced shortly.

World Rankings
WorldHockey Online

| Subscribe
Events 2005
| European Nations Cup, Men, Leipzig
| BDO Hockey Junior World Cup, Women, Santiago
| Samsung Hockey Champions Trophy, Women, Canberra
| Sahara Hockey Champions Trophy, Men, Chennai
| Full Tournament Calendar

Next World Level Event

| WorldHockey Umpiring Boost & Handbook - Spanish version now available
| 2005 Appointments
| Umpires and Umpire Managers Lists
© 2005 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by sportcentric