Homepage >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
2007 Champions Trophy hosts announced
24 Jan 2006 14:58

2005 WorldHockey Player of the Year, Luciana Aymar, will get the chance to play in front of her home crowd at the 2007 Champions Trophy
© Wolfgang Sternberger

FIH has announced that Argentina and Pakistan will host the prestigious 2007 Champions Trophy tournaments.

Argentina has been awarded the 15th Women’s Champions Trophy to be held in Mar del Plata. The tournament will be held in January 2007, with the date to be confirmed.

It will be the second time that Mar del Plata, and the third time that Argentina overall, has held the women’s Champions Trophy.

Pakistan will host the 29th Men’s Champions Trophy in Lahore from 1-9 December, 2007. Lahore is the spiritual home of the Champions Trophy, having hosted the first edition of the tournament in 1978.

It will be the sixth time that Lahore has hosted the Champions Trophy, and 12th tournament contested in Pakistan. Each of Pakistan’s three Champions Trophy titles have been won at home.

The composition of each 2007 Champions Trophy will be:

  • 2004 Olympic Games champion (Germany – women, Australia – men)
  • 2006 World Cup champion
  • 2006 Champions Trophy champion
  • Host country (Argentina – women, Pakistan – men)
  • Additional countries based on placings at 2006 World Cup

The final list of competitors at each Champions Trophy tournament will not be determined until after the men’s BDO Hockey World Cup (Monchengladbach, Germany, 6-17 September) and the women’s Samsung Hockey World Cup (Madrid, Spain, 27 September-8 October).

A full list of FIH events can be found on the WorldHockey website, www.worldhockey.org.

Allocation of 2007 tournaments
15th Women’s Champions Trophy, Mar del Plata, Argentina, January TBC
29th Men’s Champions Trophy, Lahore, Pakistan, 1-9 December, 2007

World Rankings
WorldHockey Online

| Subscribe
Events 2006
| BDO Hockey World Cup Qualifier - Men, Changzhou
| Samsung Hockey World Cup Qualifier - Women, Rome
| Rabo Hockey Champions Trophy - Women, Amstelveen
| Sahara Hockey Champions Trophy - Men, Terrassa
| BDO Hockey World Cup - Men, Monchengladbach
| Samsung Hockey World Cup - Women, Madrid

| Full Calendar

| Appointments 2006
| Umpire Lists
© 2006 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by sportcentric