Homepage >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Pakistan overhaul Olympic champions
22 Aug 2005 08:30

Pakistan celebrate their Rabo Trophy success

Visit the Tournament Website

Pakistan came from behind three times before finally overhauling Australia 4-3 to win the men’s Rabo Trophy in the final in Amsterdam. 

Pakistan chased the Olympic gold medallists for three quarters of the match, falling behind on three occasions, before scoring twice midway through the second half to take the lead – an advantage they held until full time. 

Australia got off to a bright start with Travis Brooks converting in the ninth minute before Pakistan levelled through Imram Warsi. After trading goals again in the latter stages of the first half, Ben Bishop struck for Australia one minute before half time for a 3-2 Kookaburras lead.

Pakistan controlled the scoreboard in the second half as they were able to hold Australia and produce two goals themselves to secure the Rabo Trophy title. Rehan Butt drew Pakistan level for the third time at the 42-minute mark before Mudassar Ali Khan gave Pakistan the lead eight minutes later. 

In the earlier match, Santi Freixa scored twice from penalty corners to give Spain a 2-1 win over Korea in the battle for third place. Freixa struck in the 31st and 57th minutes with Korea not able to reduce the margin until five minutes before the end of the match. 

On Saturday, Taeke Taekema’s hat trick was the highlight as Netherlands dominated Germany in a 5-0 victory in the fifth place playoff. All of Taekema’s goals were scored from penalty corners as the Dutch ran away with the match after half time. 

Also on Saturday, India finished seventh after a 2-1 win over England. 

Focus for the European teams now turns to the European Nations Cup in Leipzig starting 28 August. Places at in the BDO Hockey World Cup are up for grabs in Germany with Spain, Netherlands and Germany to fight for the title. 

Pakistan 4 defeated Australia 3
Goals: PAK – Imram Warsi PC 17m, Adnan Zakir FG 32m, Rehan Butt FG 42m, Mudassar Ali Khan FG 50m; AUS – Travis Brooks FG 9m, Grant Schubert FG 24m, Ben Bishop FG 34m

3rd Place Playoff
Spain 2 defeated Korea 1
Goals: ESP – Santi Freixa PC 31m PC 57m; KOR – Sung Hoon Yoon FG 65m 

5th Place Playoff
Netherlands 5 defeated Germany 0
Goals: NED – Taeke Taekema PC 25m PC 44m PC 54m, Roderick Weusthof FG 47m, Floris Evers FG 70m

7th Place Playoff
India 2 defeated England 1
Goals: IND – Gagan Ajit Singh PC 32m, Deepak Thakur FG 53m; James Tindall PC 70m

Final Standings
1. Pakistan
2. Australia
3. Spain
4. Korea
5. Netherlands
6. Germany
7. India
8. England

Player of the Tournament: Grant Schubert (AUS)
Top Goal Scorer: Grant Schubert (AUS)
Most Promising Player: Robert van der Horst (NED)
Fair Play Cup: Korea

Oceania Cup - Men
Match 1
Match 2
NZL 16 FIJ 0
Match 3
AUS 26 FIJ 0
* AUS qualify for the 2006 BDO Hockey World Cup
World Rankings
WorldHockey Online

| Subscribe
Events 2005
| Oceania Cup, Women, Auckland/Sydney
| Oceania Cup, Men, Suva
| Samsung Hockey Champions Trophy, Women, Canberra
| Sahara Hockey Champions Trophy, Men, Chennai
| Full Tournament Calendar

Next World Level Event

| WorldHockey Umpiring Boost & Handbook - Spanish version now available
| 2005 Appointments
| Umpires and Umpire Managers Lists
© 2005 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by sportcentric