Homepage >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us
Kookaburras teams finalised for HA Men’s Challenge
13 May 2003 09:58

Queenslander Knowles is unavailable due to injury
© Hockey Australia

Tickets to the Hockey Australia Men's Challenge in Perth can be purchased from BOCS Ticketing, ph: 08 9484 1133 or 1800 193 300.

Australian coach Barry Dancer has finalised the composition of the Kookaburras teams to play twin international events – the Hockey Australia Men’s Challenge - in Perth and Sydney between 28 May and 8 June.

The Challenge will be contested by Australia, Pakistan, India and an Australia ‘A’ combination. The first tournament will be played in Perth, before the second series of matches in Wollongong and Sydney between 4-8 June.

With the Challenge running as two separate events, Dancer has taken the opportunity to experiment with team composition and playing partnerships. The make-up of the Kookaburras will change dramatically from Perth to Sydney, with the 24-man national squad rotating between the senior team and Australia ‘A’ outfit to provide all players with maximum exposure against Olympic-class opposition.

Each tournament will be played on a round-robin basis with a final on each Sunday contested between the top two teams. Under tournament rules, Australia ‘A’ is ineligible to contest either final and will play-off for third position on both weekends. Australia ‘A’ combines the 2003 development squad with an interchange of national squad members and will be under the guidance of WA NTC coach, Neil Hawgood.

As well as hosting one of world hockey’s most anticipated showdowns - a series involving Pakistan and India – Perth and Sydney have the chance to witness a clash involving three of the world’s top eight teams. The rivalry between Pakistan and India is intense and hockey is unique in allowing these two traditional combatants the meet in the sporting arena.

Victorian goalkeeper Stephen Mowlam will earn his first international cap in Perth. The only national squad member who will not participate in either tournament is 19-year-old Queenslander Mark Knowles. Knowles is unavailable due to injury.

Pakistan began 2003 in good form by defeating world champion Germany 1-0 in the final of the Azlan Shah Cup in March. India, an eight-time Olympic champion, was scheduled to play in the Azlan Shah Cup before government intervention led to the team’s withdrawal.

The Kookaburras began their international season with an impressive 2-0 series win against The Netherlands, winner of the past two Olympic titles, and will use the Hockey Australia Men’s Challenge to prepare for the Champions Trophy and Oceania Cup in August and September.

Kookaburras team - Perth
Mark Hickman (NT), Stephen Mowlam (VIC), Matthew Wells (vc) (TAS), Bevan George (WA), Aaron Hopkins (WA), Dean Butler (QLD), Brent Livermore (NSW), Paul Gaudoin (c) (WA), Liam De Young (QLD), Troy Elder (QLD), Scott Webster (WA), Travis Brooks (VIC), Jamie Dwyer (QLD), Michael McCann (NSW), Craig Victory (SA), Tristram Woodhouse (WA), Nathan Eglington (QLD)

Kookaburras team - Sydney
Stephen Lambert (QLD), Leon Martin (WA), Matthew Wells (TAS), Bevan George (vc) (WA), Josh Hawes (ACT), Brent Livermore (c) (NSW), Paul Gaudoin (WA), Zain Wright (TAS), Liam De Young (QLD), Scott Webster (WA), Ben Taylor (ACT), Adam Commens (NSW), Troy Elder (QLD), Jamie Dwyer (QLD), Michael McCann (NSW), Craig Victory (SA), Andrew Smith (VIC)

Australia A – Perth
Stephen Lambert (QLD), Leon Martin (WA), Josh Hawes (ACT), Seyi Onitiri (ACT), Geoff Boyce (WA), Zain Wright (TAS), David Guest (TAS), Robbie Hammond (QLD), Steven Boyce (WA), David Hennessy (NT), Adam Commens (NSW), Ben Bishop (ACT), Ben Taylor (ACT), Michael Boyce (WA), Andrew Smith (VIC), Steven Bullion (QLD), Grant Schubert (SA), Richard Gibson (WA)

Australia A – Sydney
Mark Hickman (NT), Stephen Mowlam (VIC), Aaron Hopkins (WA), Seyi Onitiri (ACT), Geoff Boyce (WA), David Guest (TAS), Dean Butler (QLD), Robbie Hammond (QLD), David Hennessy (NT), Steven Boyce (WA), Travis Brooks (VIC), Ben Bishop (ACT), Michael Boyce (WA), Nathan Eglington (QLD), Tristram Woodhouse (WA), Steven Bullion (QLD), Grant Schubert (SA), Richard Gibson (WA)

World News
Melbourne build-up continues for Scotland
IHA announces major commitment to club hockey development
Hendriks named Spain’s best coach
Caulfield appointed Ireland women's captain
Rules of Hockey: Note on the use of the “low forehand”
Scotland aims for European top six
Ireland men’s international retires
USA women seeded sixth for World Cup Qualifier
BDO WorldHockey Monthly – Episode 9
Qualification Criteria for 2007 Indoor World Cups
Pools released for World Cup Qualifiers
Australia confirms top spot on world rankings
Olympic champions seize Champions Trophy
Dutch double at WorldHockey Players of the Year awards
Netherlands scrape into Champions Trophy final
World Rankings
WorldHockey Online

| Subscribe

| WorldHockey Umpiring Boost & Handbook - Spanish version now available
| Umpires and Umpire Managers Lists
© 2006 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by sportcentric