Homepage > Umpires > FIH Umpire Development Seminar > FIH Umpire Development Seminar December 2003 >
Events & Results
Event Management
Photo Gallery
WorldHockey TV
Pitches & Equipment
Contact Us

An FIH Umpire Development Seminar is being held in Sydney, Australia, over the period of 1 to 6 December 2003. This is being run in conjunction with the BDO Womens Champions Trophy which is taking place there at the same time.

The Umpires who are participating in the Seminar are: -
Sayed Ab Del Rady (Egypt/Africa)
Hichem Aziaez (France/Europe)
Enzo Caravetta (Argentina/Pan America)
Tony Cheung (Hong Kong/Asia)
Lynn Cowie-McAlister (Australia/Oceania)
Annette Crandell (Australia/Oceania)
Keely Dunn (Canada/Pan America)
Zulfiqar Haider (Pakistan/Asia)
Adam Kearns (Australia/Oceania)
Kuk Hee Kim (Korea/Asia)
Lesley Nunn (South Africa/Africa)
Raghu Prasad (India/Asia)
Constantine Soteriades (USA/Pan America)
Simon Taylor (New Zealand/Oceania)
Cristina Tonetta (Italy/Europe)
Peter Wright (South Africa/Africa)
Tracy Wrigley (New Zealand/Oceania)
Ru Xiong (China/Asia)

The 18 Umpires have been selected for this Seminar following their recent upgrading to International Umpire, their potential for further development and advancement on the basis of promising performance reports from their first Tournaments and their age.

The Seminar, being conducted by Don Prior (Australia) and Peter von Reth (Netherlands), is mainly workshop based and the opportunity will be taken to observe and analyse the performances of the World and World Development Panel Umpires who are officiating at the Champions Trophy Tournament.

A report from the participants will be posted on the Umpiring section of the FIH website following completion of the Seminar. This Seminar, which is for young and promising Umpires, is part of an FIH Umpiring Committee Development programme aimed at levels of International Umpires. Last year saw a Seminar in Macau for World Development Panel Umpires, with a special programme currently being developed for the Umpire panels who will be selected for the 2004 Athens Olympics.

© 2006 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by sportcentric