Homepage > FIH > WorldHockey Player of the Year Awards > WorldHockey Player of the Year Awards > Player of the Year 2003 Winners >
Events & Results
Tournament Management
Photo Gallery
Approved Equipment
Contact Us

Grant Schubert , Mijntje Donners, Teun de Nooijer, Maartje Scheepstra









Grant Schubert (AUS) with NED players Mijntje Donners, Teun de Nooijer and Maartje Scheepstra with their FIH Player of the Year awards.
© FIH/Hockey Australia

2003 Players of the Year

THE NETHERLANDS’ trademark orange was draped over the WorldHockey Player of the Year awards with three Dutch players dominating the honours at the presentations in Sydney 5 December 2003.

Dutch forward Teun de Nooijer today returned to Sydney – scene of his epic performances in The Netherlands’ march to Olympic gold in 2000 – to claim the WorldHockey senior men’s Player of the Year award for the first time and stand alongside compatriots Mijntje Donners and Maartje Scheepstra who gave the Dutch a clean sweep of the women’s awards.

A sprig of local wattle was mixed in today’s presentations with Australian forward Grant Schubert breaking up the Dutch domination by claiming the young men’s Player of the Year title.

Netherlands captain Donners, one of the most passionate and effective players in women’s hockey, is the first Dutch player to win the senior women’ award which dates back to 1998.

De Nooijer joins former Dutch captain Stephan Veen, the inaugural winner in 1998 and 2000, as the second Netherlands player to win the coveted men’s award.

Scheepstra, a cool-headed defender, and Schubert, a prolific goalscorer who has added new bite to the Australian attack, emphasise the exciting new talent emerging on the international hockey circuit.

International Hockey Federation secretary-general Peter Cohen hailed the four winners as magnificent role models in world hockey.

'Our game is blessed with outstanding players who represent themselves, their countries and their sport with distinction and we are proud to acknowledge these four champions of the year and thank them for their part in making world hockey a better game for their presence and skills,' Mr Cohen said.

'All four winners came from impressive fields of nominations and we congratulate not only the four Players of the Year but all those who were considered for the awards. They have all made for a wonderful year of world hockey.'

click here for the new Sahara WorldHockey Team Rankings

Click here for the official event website

Outdoor Rules 2005
Indoor Rules 2005
Order Form 

© 2005 International Hockey Federation. All Rights Reserved. powered by sportcentric